11:28 Minute Miles

Today I ran for the first time since the kids went back to school. When I planned the run, I was feeling very positive about it. But when 9 a.m. arrived, I was not very excited.

It’s been a long summer, and my exercise routine has fallen victim to child care issues and work schedules. I’ve done a few videos and ran intervals at the track. But my endurance is not what it used to be.

So after the first mile, I really, really wanted to stop. It was hot. I was having trouble keeping my head in the game.

I wanted to give up.

I made myself go to the bridge, the point at which I’m 2/3 of the way done. Once I got there, I felt better. I felt like I could keep going. And I finished my 3 miles and felt good that it was over.

Then I looked at my phone app. It said 11:28 min/miles. I gasped aloud. That’s the fastest I’ve ever run. And the point where I wanted to quit? I was doing a 10:52 minute mile.

I almost gave up the fastest time I’ve had yet.

And I’m so glad I just kept going.

This entry was posted in It's My Life, Things I Couldn't Make Up If I Tried. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

