Reading Harry Potter to My Kid

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of AzkabanI just finished reading the third Harry Potter book aloud to my son. Of all the HP books, the Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite, so I didn’t want to rush into it. The twists at the end and the insight into Harry’s parents made this book a turning point in my J.K. Rowling fan girl status. I wanted my son to experience the same thrill of discovery I did when I first read it.

So I was tickled when I got to the part where Lupin reveals who the Marauder’s Map makers truly were, and my son actually gasped. I looked over, and his eyes were round and his mouth was hanging open. It was exactly the way I felt when I read it for the first time.

Thank you, J.K., for that moment.

(Side note: I’ve never forgiven Alfonso Cuarón for leaving out the key revelation of the book in the movie adaption. Dude, the mapmakers’ identity was a major point of the book, not some side story to be deleted as a whim. Ugh.)

This entry was posted in Why I Write. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

