My Son Wants to Be a Famous Author

The apple doesn't fall far from the tree.

The apple really doesn’t fall far from the tree.

“I want to be a famous author,” he said, emphasizing the word. “And illustrator,” he added, almost as an afterthought.

I found this both charming and hilarious. Charming because I find his enthusiasm for this idea (after a one story written at camp this week) completely endearing. Hilarious because I probably said something very similar at some point in my childhood.

The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree sometimes.

I smiled at him and gave a little silent thanks for Amazon.com’s Kindle Direct Publishing. I hope he does become an author one day, famous or not.

And I’ll be the first in line to download his work.

This entry was posted in It's My Life, Things You Won't Find in Parenting Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

