The Second Grade Field Trip

I volunteered to help with my kid’s field trip today. The destination?

An orthodontist’s office.

I am not making that up.

It was a real field trip. With permission slips, a school bus and 20 second graders and a half-dozen parent volunteers.

My first thought was, “They are going WHERE?” My second thought was school funding has been cut back a little too much.

I will say it was more fun than I thought it would be. I learned a lot about orthodontics. Like it takes 11 years to become an orthodonist. And the buttons on those dentist chairs are very amusing when you are eight years old. And you can use the same stuff they use to make molds of your teeth to make a mold of your thumb. And making a mold of your thumb and bringing it home is just a little creepy.

The slightly creepy thumb impression.

The slightly creepy thumb impression.

(On the flip side, the mold is very accurate, and if I ever lose my thumb, I’ll have a good model to have a prosthetic thumb made.)

The orthodontist was very generous. The kids all got little gift bags and t-shirts. The parent volunteers got bigger gift bags with coffee mugs and business cards with the orthodontist’s phone number on it.

It’s really brilliant advertising — because if you’ve ever looked at a second grader’s mouth, you can see why the orthodontist can afford those fancy flatscreen TVs and the arcade games in the waiting room.

Someone’s putting their entrepreneurial marketing course to good use.

This entry was posted in Things I Couldn't Make Up If I Tried, Things You Won't Find in Parenting Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

