Yes, My Husband Cooks

So I’ve had a fair amount of feedback about our 30-Day No Eating Out Challenge, because I wrote about it over here at one of my favorite blogs, Get Rich Slowly. (Tangent: I love this blog — please spend some time browsing their articles. J.D. has some great stuff on there about a variety of topics related to personal finance. He’s developed a great community there, and some of the commenters offer great advice too.)

I felt the comments people left were very insightful on Get Rich Slowly, and I picked up some great suggestions for our next round of challenges (restaurant and otherwise).

Pumpkin Soup from a Real Pumpkin

Pumpkin Soup from a Real Pumpkin

I also posted the GRS blog on my personal Facebook page, and the feedback from there was more… um, interesting… than I imagined it would be.

First off, a few people among my close friends seemed surprised that my husband cooks. Yep. He’s perfectly capable of cooking. I really am surprised that my husband cooking seems so… surprising. My father could cook, although he did it less often than my mother did. I have male friends who are exceptional cooks, and I love it when we get invited to dinner at their house. Male chefs are on T.V. all the time. Why is it so surprising for a man to cook?

What’s ironic is that perfect strangers on GRS seemed to accept my husband cooking as a non-issue. But some of my friends found it extremely surprising.

Which, I suppose, should make me wonder what image they have of us if my husband cooking seems to be sort of odd.

This entry was posted in It's My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

