New Year, No Resolutions

A real Oregon duck

The type of Oregon duck that is not copyrighted by the UO.

Finally, 2012 is here. I’m a bit relieved, to be honest. Not that 2011 was so bad. But I do enjoy the fresh start that comes with a brand new calendar. The Christmas decorations are back in their boxes, and my neighborhood is full of joggers. My biggest task — I’ve got to train myself to write 2012 on my checks. It seems to take longer than it used to, probably because I don’t write many checks these days. I should be fine by June at the latest.

This year seems to be off to an auspicious start because my favorite football team, the University of Oregon Ducks, just won the Rose Bowl. UO hasn’t won at the Rose Bowl since 1917. The idea that they have accomplished this feat after 95 years is comforting. It’s a nice reminder that good things can happen if you work hard enough.

I have no resolutions for 2012, I suppose because I’ve got plenty of things I’m still working on from previous years. My “To Do” list is never lacking in either short- or long-term goals. I guess my overall goal is just to move forward and find ways to make progress on whatever I’m focusing on at the moment. It sounds kind of wimpy for a resolution.

I know plenty of people who have had pretty ugly years recently… so I hope 2012 will bring good things for each and every one of us. A little positive energy in the world would be a good thing.

Happy New Year.

This entry was posted in It's My Life, Why I Write. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

