Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 3: Body Functions

I’m working my way through my Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette this month. Catch up by reading Rule #1 and Rule #2.

A few years ago, when my sister was pregnant with her first child, I gave her one rule about sharing the details of her new mom bliss with her Friends on Facebook.

Rule #3: Thou Shall Not Post About Body Fluids or Functions on Facebook

Simply reread the words on the screen before hitting “Post.” If it involves a body fluid or function, delete it. Now.

I specifically told my dear sister that she was not allowed to post about the contents of her child’s diapers on Facebook. She laughed at me, as women pregnant with their first child are apt to do. Because WHY ON EARTH would I think she would EVER post something like that on Facebook.

Because I’ve had two children, and I know what happens to new moms. Suddenly discussions about poop, puke and spit up are completely normal topics of conversation.

I told her she could call me any time, and we could talk about all the body functions she wants. Because only moms will understand. But she was not to post it on Facebook.

See the line in the sand? Don’t cross it.

My nephew is now nearly 2 1/2 years old, and my sister told me recently that she was glad I gave her that rule. Because there have been times when she really wanted to post something in direct violation of Rule #3. That’s right. My completely reasonable, educated, normal sister felt a desire to post something about poop on her Facebook page.

You can thank me any time.

I extend this rule to adult body fluids and functions too. It’s even less acceptable. Call up your mother and tell her all about your gas pains. No one else wants to know.

I’ve got two more rules of Facebook Etiquette. To be continued…

This entry was posted in Facebook Etiquette, It's My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 3: Body Functions

  1. Pingback: Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 2: Photo Editing | It's My Life

  2. Pingback: Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 4: Status Updates | It's My Life

  3. Pingback: Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 5: You Still Need to Talk to Real People | It's My Life

Leave a Reply

