Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 2: Photo Editing

I’m working my way through my Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette this month. Catch up by reading Rule #1.

My second rule has to do with my very favorite part of Facebook — photos. I LOVE Facebook photos. I love pictures of my friends on vacation. I love old pictures of my friends when we were still in high school. I love funny pictures of toddlers. I love pictures of my friends’ artistic creations. I love photos.

However, even I have my limits.

Rule #2: Thou Shall Edit Photos Before Posting on Facebook

This rule is pretty easy: don’t put every damn picture you take on Facebook. A night out on the town warrants one or two pictures, max. A party with more than six people, maybe a dozen if you really need to tag everyone who was there. I’ll accept more than a dozen for a vacation or major event (like a wedding), but I still think you can narrow it down to less than four dozen.

I have some Friends, who shall remain nameless, who violate these rules. There’s one with 117 pictures of a parade. Another with 94 pictures of a 6-hour trip with friends, most of which are either fuzzy or the same picture with one person looking right, then the same person looking left.

Back away from the camera, people.

It’s not that hard to narrow down photo selections for Facebook. Really. Look at the pictures. Delete the fuzzy ones. If you have two that are essentially the same, use ONLY the one that is the best.

Also no drunk people. Nothing that is going to embarrass someone when it shows up in a Google search. What goes around, comes around.

I’ve got three more rules of Facebook Etiquette. To be continued…

This entry was posted in Facebook Etiquette, It's My Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 2: Photo Editing

  1. Pingback: Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 1: Thread Hijacking | It's My Life

  2. Pingback: Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 3: No Body Functions | It's My Life

  3. Pingback: Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 4: Status Updates | It's My Life

  4. Pingback: Five Rules of Facebook Etiquette, Part 5: You Still Need to Talk to Real People | It's My Life

Leave a Reply

