Thankful That’s Over

Squirrel Eating Apple

This squirrel snagged that apple from a trash bin on Thanksgiving day. I think he was pretty thankful for the leftovers.

So I’ve mentioned before how I decided to take on the November Thankfulness Challenge (via Facebook). My take on this experience: being thankful is hard work.

It’s not really that hard to think of things to be thankful for. It is hard to think of new things every single day. It’s also hard to write about them in a sentence or two without sounding trite or, in a strange way, ungrateful by being grateful for stuff that really sounds kind of superficial.

Particularly because I have friends on Facebook who are dealing with big issues in their health, finances and family.

Truth is, I have much to be thankful for, and this little experiment confirmed what I do know: I need to spend more time simply being grateful for the blessings in my life.

That said, I’m happy tomorrow is December 1, and I can go back to being thankful in my own, non-public way.

This entry was posted in Why I Write. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

